Meet Your Admissions Counselor

Making the right college choice can be a challenging experience for you and your family. We’re here to help you make this exciting decision by guiding you through the admissions process and sharing with you and your family the unique opportunities HBU can provide. Meet your Admissions Counselor below, and then get in touch with us to schedule a campus visit with your Counselor.


Ben Byrum

Admissions Counselor

Freshman Territory: Houston-area Territory: Cleveland, Conroe, Crosby, Dayton, Galena Park, Huffman, Humble, Katy, Montgomery, Sheldon, and Tarkington ISD’s
Texas Territory: Panhandle, Lubbock, Amarillo; El Paso; Midland/Odessa; Austin & Central Texas; Waco, Temple, Killeen
Transfer Territory: Last Name A-Dh

Email: bbyrum@hbu.edu
Phone: 1 (800) 969-3210 / (281) 649-3760
Fax: (281) 649-3217


Callie Sheehan

Admissions Counselor

Freshman Territory: Houston-area Territory: HISD high schools, Alief ISD
Texas Territory: Tyler, Lufkin, Palestine (East Texas); Beaumont, Port Arthur, Needville (Southeast Texas)
Transfer Territory: Last Name E-H

Email: csheehan@hbu.edu
Phone: 1 (800) 969-3210 / (281) 649-3443
Fax: (281) 649-3217


Celani Rodriquez

Assistant Director of Recruitment

Freshman Territory: Spring Branch ISD

Email: crodriquez@hbu.edu
Phone: 1 (800) 969-3210 / (281) 649-3763
Fax: (281) 649-3217


Denae Arellano

Admissions Counselor

Freshman Territory: Houston-area Territory: Alvin, Barbers Hill, Channelview, Clear Creek, Deer Park, Dickinson, Friendswood, Galveston, Goose Creek, Hitchcock, La Marque, La Porte, Pasadena, Pearland, and Texas City ISD’s
Texas Territory: Wharton, Victoria (Gulf Coast); Fort Worth, Keller, Southlake, Aledo
Transfer Territory: Last Name N-R

 Email: darellano@hbu.edu
Phone: 1 (800) 969-3210 / (281) 649-3769
Fax: (281) 649-3217


Jaelyn Maggart

Admissions Counselor

Freshman Territory: Aldine, Cy-Fair, Klein, Magnolia, New Caney, Santa Fe, and Tomball ISD’s
Texas Territory: Dallas
Transfer Territory: Last Name S-Z

Email: jmaggart@hbu.edu
Phone: 1 (800) 969-3210 / (281) 649-3764
Fax: (281) 649-3217


Rachel Jones

Admissions Counselor

Freshman Territory: Houston-area Territory: All Houston-area private high schools and charter schools, All Homeschool students (regardless of location), Fort Bend ISD, Stafford ISD
Texas Territory: Abilene, San Angelo, Corpus Christie, Brownsville, Laredo (South Texas Valley), and San Antonio
Transfer Territory: Last Name I-M

Email: rjones@hbu.edu
Phone: 1 (800) 969-3210 / (281) 649-3768
Fax: (281) 649-3217


Shannon Bedo

Coordinator, Office of International Student Services

Territory: International Students

Email: sbedo@hbu.edu
Phone: 1 (800) 969-3210 / (281) 649-3293
Fax: (281) 649-3217

© 2017 Admissions