Keynote Speaker: Scott Cairns

Scott CairnsAbout Scott Cairns
Librettist, memoirist, translator, and author of seven poetry collections, Scott Cairns is Professor of English at University of Missouri, and is founding director of Writing Workshops in Greece: Thessaloniki/Thasos, a program now in its seventh year bringing graduate and undergraduate students—as well as unaffiliated writers—to Greece every June for engagement with literary life in modern Greece.  His poems and essays have appeared in Poetry, Image, Paris Review, The Atlantic Monthly, The New Republic, Prairie Schooner, etc., and both have been anthologized in multiple editions of Best American Spiritual Writing.  He is a regular blogger for the Religion Section of The Huffington Post, and contributes a podcast, Flesh Becomes Word, for Ancient Faith Radio.  His most recent books are Idiot Psalms (2014), Compass of Affection: Poems New and Selected (2007), Short Trip to the Edge (spiritual memoir, 2006), Endless Life (translations and adaptations of Christian mystics, 2007 & 2014), and a book-length essay, The End of Suffering (2009).  He received a Guggenheim Fellowship in 2006, and the Denise Levertov Award in 2014.  His new projects include Descent to the Heart, a verse adaptation of selections from the writings of Saint Isaak of Syria.  His spiritual memoir was just released in a Greek edition, Μικρό Ταξίδι στι Μεθόριο, and a new, expanded English edition will be released from Paraclete Press in 2016.  His Slow Pilgrim: The Collected Poems will be published by Paraclete Press in 2015.
Selected Publications
  • Slow Pilgrim: Collected Poems, Preface by Richard Howard, Introduction by Gregory Wolfe, Paraclete Press, forthcoming in 2015
  • Idiot Psalms (new poems) Paraclete Press, 2014
  • Endless Life (translations & adaptations) Paraclete Press, 2014
  • The End of Suffering (essay) Paraclete Press, 2009
  • Short Trip to the Edge (spiritual memoir) HarperOne, 2007, Greek edition: Μικρό Ταξίδι στη Μεθόριο, Parrisia Press, Athens, 2014
  • Love's Immensity: Mystics on the Endless Life (translations/adaptations), Paraclete Press, 2007
  • Compass of Affection: Poems New & Selected, Paraclete, Press, 2006
  • Philokalia, Zoo Press, 2002
  • Recovered Body New York: George Braziller Publishers, 1998. Reprint Eighth Day Press, 2003
  • Figures for the Ghost, University of Georgia Press, 1994
  • The Translation of Babel, University of Georgia Press, 1990
  • The Theology of Doubt, Cleveland State University Poetry Center, 1985
Selected Awards
  • John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship
  • Denise Levertov Award
  • Pushcart Prize
  • National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship